Young girl broke.

Let me tell you the story of a young girl, nay, a working woman, living independently in a city she has learnt to love. Except that she has no money left to enjoy that city and the tons of stuff available.

Because, lo and behold, she blows up all her money on a) food and b) books.

She also tends to worry a lot about her health. Therefore she is cutting down on the drinking and eating out. Good news, right?

Not so much. Because she, being this absolutely determined person, stops thinking logically when she sees books. Her exams are coming. And she already has (last counted) around 35 books to be read on her bookshelf.

And she feels bad about being behind in her course. And is also not too kicked about a lazy weekend. So she goes and buys books. Because at the end of the day, when she looks into her wallet, there is hardly any money left. But when she looks at the desk – there are over a dozen new books sitting there!! And she is happy. And that is important, you know.

I never said it was me. Could have been anybody!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sreetama says:

    Great! Am proud of that & she is a big big inspiration! 🙂

  2. Avi says:

    i can guess who the person is 😀

  3. I love how you describe yourself! I am the same way. Even when I have only a few dollars to my name I will go to Goodwill and spend it on a book. I love reading ..especially true stories!

  4. sudsen says:

    She can always borrow my books, so long as she remembers to return them 😊
    What’s the course she’s doing?

Leave a Reply

