The books this month

So this is not a very clear picture since I’ve lent my camera to a friend for her project and my phone has stopped working all of a sudden. (It’s an HTC one series phone which I think has an otherwise nice camera. But apparently a lot of people, across the globe, have faced the same problem – the phone shutting off on its own and then refusing to turn on at all. So while it rests in a service centre in Bangalore, I shall have to do with strategically taken, slightly blurred and shaken pictures from my webcam.)

 Image

 

So anyway, this is my new stack of books. Found again at my favourite not-so-secret book sale. Though I didn’t really find anything I was looking for, I picked up some which I have fond memories of, or have heard a lot of good things about. Like ‘The world according to Clarkson’ – this shall be my first book from Clarkson and I am apprehensive as well as inquisitive about it. Three of the books I picked up have been turned into movies – ‘Chocolat’, ‘The Hours’ and ‘Under the Tuscan Sun’ – the first being a favourite (and also giving the blog it’s name).

I picked up two of the books based solely on its cover – Two Caravans (by Marina Lewycka) and Orpheus Rising (by Bateman). The collection of Adrian Mole stories is a second hand copy. But I think I prefer it this way. It reminds me of the time when my grandmother gifted me ‘The secret diary of Adrian Mole, aged 13 3/4’ when I was roughly around the same age. The copy I now have is marked with a “To Sarah, Just in case you can’t remember all the words. Love M” in black, cursive writing. I also, surprisingly found Amitav Ghosh’s ‘Sea of Poppies’ which I had been thinking of reading for some time. (The only book of his I have read – The Hungry tide – gave me goosebumps! And I know it may not happen again. But now I have all his written works with me – waiting to be read).

The other books – six remaining from the 14 I picked up – are booker prize or some such prize winners. So they can’t really be bad.

All in all, I am happy about this month’s shopping. (My mother however thinks I should be buying new clothes instead of books. She screamed at me when she saw my denims last month when I was visiting her.)

Leave a Reply

