Learn. Unlearn. Relearn.

Do you remember the day you were born? No, perhaps. Or the day you first went to school? No again for most of us. And yet you remember parts of it. Parts when you learned something – from friends, from parents, from life in general.

I probably lived in a nice house in a nice family. I went to school and for various classes – three music teachers in 7 years, two art schools, swimming classes every summer and spring, dance for at least 5 years. I would play outdoors like children did in those times, read books when I wanted to, paint pictures or faces or things on the wall, and spend time with my grandmother and my sister when my parents weren’t home. I had a normal childhood.

And yet, now, when I am well over 20, working and living alone in a city at least 2 days away from home, I feel like I have not done/ learnt anything. I do not know how to play a sport. I have not read good literature (Don’t get me wrong, I love reading. But I have not read good writing. There is an essential difference between the two). I have not followed my dance through or given it more than just a few minutes of my time. My interest in singing has been reduced to humming out tunes when I no one is at home, or when the people around me are just as musically challenged as I am.

And yet I do not feel totally disgusted with myself. I actually feel happy that there is so much I can do. I am receptive to new things, to learning from anyone and everyone. I have always been a good listener and now I shall put that to some use.

And so, I have started on a path of correction. I shall learn all that is to learn, all that I can gather as fast as I can. My best friend is referring books for me to read. Someone just explained the game of tennis and has encouraged me enough to enroll for classes in a couple of months. I shall watch movies which are good and not just entertaining because we have starts singing and dancing in them or directors whose names we Indians can pronounce easily.

My roommate’s cousin has a blog where he writes about new things he has been doing/ plans to do. Somehow, that has encouraged me and inspired me at the same time. I will try new things and I will experience a better life too.

For now, classics. (This is the list for the next couple of months)
All books by Ernest Hemingway
George Orwell
John Steinbeck
Truman Capote
James McBride
James Baldwin
Joan Didion
Virginia Woolf
Kapuscinski
Tom Wolfe

stock

Leave a Reply

