January things

So. It’s been a sort of crazy month. I was broke by the 10th, thanks to trips planned, cancelled and planned again. And then came the sale season. Clothes and books. And shoes. And more broke.

Anyway. I found out about book sales organised by NGOs and stand-alone book stores. And skipped the ones organised by Crossword and Landmark. And then there were books inherited from a friend who left the city. And a nice, fat graphic novel from an equally nice friend.

The picture will show you the books I bought/ borrowed/ got bribed with this month.

bookjan

By the way, this morning I read this post by one of my favourite book bloggers. You should give it a read.

I totally agree. A library is extremely important for a person’s growth. I remember the first library I went to had a lovely collection of children’s books. Including tons of Noddy. I was too young to go into the section which had Enid Blyton books, so I would request my sister to issue one on her name. It was also the place where I came across this rhyme,

“Georgie Porgie, Puddin’ and Pie,
Kissed the girls and made them cry,
When the boys came out to play
Georgie Porgie ran away.”

I think my mother was a bit worried after I started to recite it in front of house guests. Not that they minded. I got plenty of claps and hi/low fives and hugs.

What I remember most about the library were little round tables and cushions for all the children to plop down on and read. They deduced (correctly) that after browsing through a book we may not want to read it. So the reading area was always full. I miss that in libaries nowadays. Why can’t they also include a desk and chairs, comfortable ones, for people to sit and select their books. I could donate a bean bag for the noble cause myself.

I gradually moved on to a much better library for my novels. This was run by 5 men from Kerala – extremely well read and surprisingly un-librarianish polite. The library, though a small one, continues to have the most insane collection of books – with a room each dedicated to children’s books, popular fiction, DIY and hobbies, classics and reference books (never been inside this one though). The membership was a birthday gift from my grandma when I was in fifth and even today, as soon as I reach Calcutta, I go and pick up 5-6 books to read from there. They ask about life in Bombay, I ask about new books. They put down recommendations for me. I plead them to come to Bombay.

Libraries. It should be there. It must be there. What else do you run to during school vacations and for your own me time?

Leave a Reply

