Scribbled on

I love it when people gift me with books to read. And I like it even more when they take out the time to write a note in it. A few of my favourites include the following…

Heart of Darkness, Joseph Conrad. My flatmate gave this to me beginning of this year. She reads a lot and more importantly she reads the kind of books you’d want to remember. This is what she wrote “For Shohini who wants to read ‘good books’ in the hopes that she will question and agree against labels and that who label”.

To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee. My colleague, gave me four books, including a copy of ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’. That is wonderful, except she forgot that three years back she had given me the same book (along with some others) for my birthday. Here’s what she had to say, “Have you, have you not…? (Read this) Can’t wait for the debate to rage on. Always a part of my book mixes for friends (Sell off the other copy if you have, if not, this is worth keeping).

Wonderful friends šŸ™‚

Adrian Mole- From Minor to Major, Sue Townsend. I bought this very tattered collection of all the Adrian Mole diaries. Understandably, it was a second or third hand copy. But the first owner, Sarah had a lovely yet cute message which said, “To Sarah, Just in case you can’t remember all the words”.

This said and done, I DO NOT like it when people write in the pages. Usually. Except if the person concerned is Harry Potter. While reading this thin volume of ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them’ (apparently written by Newt Scamander) I saw that they had very wittily scribbled in the book with what was supposedly conversations between Harry, Ron and Hermione. More than the texts of the book – which was funny as it is, what with Dragons and House Elves and BillyWigs and Dugbogs – the scribbled contents and the doodles were what made me go through the whole book. The next in the series, ‘Quiddich through the ages’ might be just as interesting. Can’t wait to start reading it tonight.

IMAG0392

IMAG0393

IMAG0394

IMAG0396

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I’ve been trying to find To Kill A Mockingbird, but I think I should just ask it for a birthday gift, then I wouldnt have to go hunting. LOL

  2. Santulan says:

    Yes! Dungbombs totally rule

Leave a Reply

