Sasha Martin and her 600+ recipes from across the world

Sasha Martin had always been creative in the kitchen, thanks to her mother who taught her the difference between the ‘poverty of resources and the poverty of spirit’. Having visited 12 countries by the young age of 19, Sasha was meant to have a travel soul. But then, she found a beautiful way to travel and experience a bit of every culture, without having to leave her husband and 7 month old daughter behind.

O’Hara’s Irish Red Velvet Cake with Bailey’s Buttercream

Five years ago, in 2010, Sasha started on her culinary journey to teach her daughter, Ava, about food from other countries and also to get rid of the feeling of staying grounded in one place.

She has spent nearly five years cooking a meal from every country in the world, A-Z. They (as she counts her husband and daughter to be part of the team), began with Afghanistan and, by the time they reached Zimbabwe, they had sampled more than 650 recipes. That’s a whole lot of food in this world, isn’t it?

Samoan Tropical Salad

“The process of cooking has always been a walking meditation for me – the process of kneading, stirring, and creating, grounds me and connects me to my family. Once I began cooking the world, I found that it could help me make peace with my past and figure out what kind of world I wanted to offer my daughter.  Looking at other cultures taught me that people everywhere are connecting around food – it’s a central part of family. I explore these themes in my new book published through National Geographic, Life from Scratch: A Memoir of Food, Family, and Forgiveness.”

Sweet & Spicy Korean Braised Turkey

I spoke to Sasha, mainly because I love food and travel. But also because I think what she is doing will make her daughter a true global citizen. Because a family which has already seen a bit of the culture of so many places, is bound to be more open and loving in reality. And if recent events have taught us anything, then this must be it. Love.

Read my blog about Sasha and her Global Travel Adventure here.

Follow Sasha on Instagram (more of those yummy food pics? Sure!) here.

Follow my blog on Facebook to get updates on more such awesome people and awesome adventures here.

Leave a Reply

